Australian Reciprocal Healthcare Agreements

By admin

Sep 12

Australia has mutual health agreements with – New Zealand, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Sweden, Finland, Italy, Norway, Malta, Belgium, Slovenia and Ireland. Each agreement is different and differs in both benefits and duration of eligibility. The agreements do not apply to all health services. Some services that are not covered by the agreements are: • treatment that is not immediately necessary, • outpatient insurance, • dental care, • paramedical services, • medical evacuation to your home country, • funeral, • treatment and accommodation in private hospitals or as a private patient in a public hospital, • electrical treatment, • treatment arranged before arrival in Australia. For this reason, it is highly recommended that all visitors to Australia from Mutual Health Care countries under contract acquire appropriate health insurance. HICA has a series of guidelines that have been specially designed for foreign visitors, depending on the type of visa and the length of your stay in Australia. If you wish to benefit from our free assessment/promotion service, we ask you to fill out an evaluation form so that we can provide you with our professional recommendations and offers for policies that best meet your specific needs If you plan to live or work in one of the countries of mutual agreement, the information contained in the links below may not apply. For more information on the Mutual Health Agreement, please visit this website or email [email protected]. You can also call Medicare directly on 0061 2 9895 3333. You are treated as if you were an inhabitant of the country concerned. As a general rule, these agreements apply to British nationals living in the United Kingdom. If you are not a UK citizen, you may still be insured for reduced or free treatment if you normally live in the UK.

However, we recommend that you take out appropriate insurance for the duration of your trip. Mutual health agreements do not replace the need for private travel health insurance. The United Kingdom has mutual health agreements with several non-EEA countries and territories. Australia has a mutual health agreement with the UK, which means that UK residents can enjoy certain health services free of charge during a visit to Australia. You`ll find some basic tips on healthcare and hospitals on the islands on the GOV. Website of the United Kingdom and the official tourism website of the Turks and Caicos Islands. The CEF does not apply outside the European Economic Area and Switzerland.

About the Author